Robert Villanueva taped his call with the GEICO adjuster. Most people never think to. And according to his complaint, the tape caught the kind of lines a plaintiff’s lawyer dreams about: “We use our numbers,” and “I’m not worried about the second estimate.”
He sued on eight counts and lost all eight. On October 12, 2026, the Minnesota Court of Appeals affirmed. Villanueva v. GEICO Casualty Co., No. A26-0557 (Minn. Ct. App. Oct. 12, 2026) (nonprecedential).
Here’s the part that got me. He caught the district court in a real mistake. It read the wrong complaint. The panel agreed with him. It didn’t help one bit.
The tape wasn’t the problem. The statute was.
What happened
The facts come from the complaint, which the court takes as true at this stage. In July 2025 Villanueva’s car was damaged in a collision with another vehicle. GEICO insured the other vehicle. GEICO put his car’s actual cash value at $9,282.97 and its salvage value at $1,898.88. A licensed repair shop wrote a supplemental estimate saying the car could be fixed for $5,387.12.
GEICO totaled it anyway and offered $7,384.09: the ACV minus the salvage. Villanueva says the adjuster waved off his repair estimate, said “alignment issues” and rental costs would go into the total-loss call even though his estimate ruled out alignment problems, and told him that if he didn’t sign, “storage fees would pile up” and his rental would end.
He signed. Twenty days later he sued GEICO and two of its agents.
The original complaint had six counts: Minn. Stat. § 72B.092 (disregarding a repair estimate), § 72A.201 (unfair claims practices), § 604.18 (bad faith), § 325F.69 (consumer fraud), coercion, and punitive damages. Before GEICO responded, he amended to add two more: a “Private Attorney General Action” under § 8.31, subd. 3a, and breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing.
The district court tossed it all with prejudice. It didn’t look past the original six.
Minnesota’s claims rulebook isn’t yours to sue on
Count II is the one I want you to remember, because people keep filing it.
Minnesota Statutes § 72A.201 is a long, detailed rulebook for how insurers have to handle claims. Acknowledgment deadlines. What a fair total-loss settlement has to include. A list of coercive practices. Read it and you’ll think you’ve got a case.
You haven’t. Look who gets the enforcement job. It isn’t you. Subdivision 1:
The commissioner may, in accordance with chapter 14, adopt rules to ensure the prompt, fair, and honest processing of claims and complaints. The commissioner may, in accordance with sections 72A.22 to 72A.25, seek and impose appropriate administrative remedies, including fines, for (1) a violation of this section or the rules adopted pursuant to this section; or (2) a violation of section 72A.20, subdivision 12.
The commissioner. And the next paragraph shuts the side door too:
No individual violation constitutes an unfair, discriminatory, or unlawful practice in business, commerce, or trade for purposes of section 8.31.
Section 8.31, subd. 3a is the private-attorney-general provision, the hook Villanueva reached for in count VII. For one claimant and one bad adjustment, that door was nailed shut before he got there. That claimant gets a long rulebook and no whistle. The regulator holds it.
The Minnesota Supreme Court settled the bigger question in May 1986, forty years ago. In Morris v. American Family Mutual Insurance Co., 386 N.W.2d 233 (Minn. 1986), an insured tried to add a claim under § 72A.20, the original Unfair Claims Practices Act. The court called the legislature’s intent to create a private claim “at best delphic”, id. at 236, which is a polite way of saying the Legislature mumbled. Then it said it flat:
We hold, therefore, that a private person does not have a cause of action for a violation of the Unfair Claims Practices Act.
Id. at 238. Villanueva applied that rule in one paragraph. The panel described what § 72A.201 does, cited Morris and the Supreme Court’s 2023 discussion of it in Findling v. Group Health Plan, Inc., 998 N.W.2d 1, 13–14 (Minn. 2023), and said:
But there is no private cause of action under section 72A.201.
Slip op. at 11. That’s four decades of the same answer on a direct claim.
There’s one wrinkle, and it’s the word “individual.” In Findling, the Supreme Court went back over Morris and stressed that “the plaintiff in Morris claimed that the insurer violated her rights as an individual; she did not allege that the insurer’s conduct related to her was a widespread practice by the insurer.” Findling, No. A21-1518, slip op. at 19 (Minn. Dec. 6, 2023). Findling was a health-records case, and it said “Morris does not control the outcome of this case.” Id. at 21. Villanueva’s count VII did allege a systemic pattern. It didn’t survive either, because the panel found it didn’t allege a violation of any law § 8.31 reaches. Slip op. at 7. So the pattern theory’s still out there, unruled on.
Our total-loss guide covers what the statute is still good for, and that’s plenty. It just isn’t a lawsuit.
He wasn’t GEICO’s customer
The whole case turns on this. GEICO insured the other vehicle. Villanueva was a third-party claimant. When a total-loss fight lands on my desk, my first question is whose policy it is. The answer decides which tools I even get.
That’s why count VIII, the good-faith-and-fair-dealing claim, went nowhere. The implied covenant lives inside a contract. He didn’t plead one. The panel needed one sentence:
Villanueva is a third-party claimant, and Villanueva’s complaint does not allege that he had a contract with GEICO or that GEICO breached any specific contract term.
Slip op. at 7. No contract, no covenant.
Villanueva didn’t appeal the dismissal of his § 604.18 count, so the panel never reached it. Read the statute anyway and you’ll hit the same wall. Section 604.18 runs to an “insured”, and subdivision 1(b) says who that is:
“Insured” means a person who, or an entity which, qualifies as an insured under the terms of an insurance policy on which a claim for coverage is made. An insured does not include any person or entity claiming a third-party beneficiary status under an insurance policy.
So Minnesota’s bad-faith remedy belongs to an “insured”, meaning someone who qualifies as an insured under the terms of the policy the claim is made on. That can reach past the person who bought the policy. It doesn’t reach a third-party claimant. If someone else hit you, it isn’t yours against their carrier. Your claim runs against the driver, and the total-loss guide covers why you can’t sue the other driver’s insurer directly. If the number’s small enough, conciliation court may be the fastest road to it.
The other move: if you carry collision coverage, make the claim on your own policy. Then you’re the insured, and every lever below is yours.
Two more statutes, two more misses
Section 72B.092. Subdivision 1(7) bars an insurer from “unilaterally and arbitrarily” disregarding a repair operation or cost “identified by an estimating system, which an insurer and collision repair facility have agreed to utilize in determining the cost of repair.” Villanueva’s estimate came from his shop. Nothing in the complaint said GEICO and the shop had agreed on any estimating system. The panel added that the provision “does not include language requiring an insurer to use a particular repair estimate when it decides whether to deem a vehicle a total loss”. Slip op. at 10. The statute protects estimating systems the insurer and the shop agreed to use. It doesn’t make your shop’s estimate binding on somebody else’s insurer.
Section 325F.69. Minnesota’s consumer fraud statute reaches deception “in connection with the sale of any merchandise”. The panel agreed with the district court that it “is a consumer protection statute related to the sale of merchandise” and didn’t fit his claim. Slip op. at 11. Who that statute pays, and when, is its own puzzle; we’ve covered it separately.
So where’s the leverage on a lowballed total loss?
On your own policy, plenty. Villanueva just looked in the wrong place.
The contract. You sue your carrier for breach of the policy for not paying actual cash value. Subdivision 10 of § 72A.201 says “Nothing in this section abrogates any policy provisions”, so the policy is the claim. But § 72A.201, subd. 6(1)(b)(iii) still tells everybody what a defensible valuation looks like:
any settlement or offer of settlement which deviates from the procedure above must be documented and justified in detail. The basis for the settlement or offer of settlement must be explained to the insured;
I’d rather send a demand letter built on that sentence than one that says the offer feels low.
The appraisal clause, if your policy has one. Auto appraisal is a contract right, so whether you’ve got one, and what it decides, comes down to your policy’s own wording. Our article on the statutory fire-policy appraisal clause explains how the statutory version works. Know the trade before you pull it. Section 604.18, subd. 4(c):
An award of taxable costs under this section is not available in any claim that is resolved or confirmed by arbitration or appraisal.
That same sentence reaches arbitration, which matters if your dispute lands in mandatory no-fault arbitration.
The Department of Commerce. That’s the forum § 72A.201 actually built. The commissioner can fine, and subdivision 1 drops the burden that sank private plaintiffs in Morris: “The commissioner need not show a general business practice in taking an administrative action for these violations.” Subdivision 9 makes it an unfair settlement practice for an insurer to fail “to respond, within 15 working days after receipt of an inquiry from the commissioner, about a claim, to the commissioner”. That’s a deadline the carrier owes the regulator. One catch: § 604.18, subd. 4(d)(2) makes “allegations involving, or results of, investigations, examinations, or administrative proceedings conducted by the Department of Commerce” inadmissible in a § 604.18 proceeding. A Commerce complaint puts pressure on the carrier. It won’t prove your bad-faith case for you.
Section 604.18. The insured has to show two things under subdivision 2(a): “the absence of a reasonable basis for denying the benefits of the insurance policy”, and that the insurer “knew of the lack of a reasonable basis” or “acted in reckless disregard” of it. Subdivision 3(a) sets the formula: one-half of the proceeds awarded above an offer the insurer made at least ten days before trial, or $250,000, whichever is less, plus “reasonable attorney fees actually incurred to establish the insurer’s violation”, capped at $100,000. And you can’t plead it on day one. Subdivision 4(a):
Upon commencement of a civil action by an insured against an insurer, the complaint must not seek a recovery under this section.
You file the policy claim, move to amend with affidavits, and the court decides whether there’s prima facie evidence. Our § 604.18 article walks the procedure step by step.
Villanueva’s original complaint pleaded § 604.18 as count III right out of the gate. Even for an insured, that’s the one thing subdivision 4(a) says a complaint must not do.
Yes, the court has to read the complaint you actually filed
Villanueva did win one argument. Rule 15.01 of the Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure:
A party may amend a pleading once as a matter of course at any time before a responsive pleading is served
He amended before GEICO answered and before it moved to dismiss. A motion to dismiss isn’t a responsive pleading, as the panel noted, citing Sharkey v. City of Shoreview, 853 N.W.2d 832, 835 (Minn. Ct. App. 2014). GEICO’s own motion treated the amended complaint as the live one and went after all eight counts.
The district court didn’t. It said so in a footnote: “The Court is limiting its inquiry to the original Complaint as the operative pleading, but the result would be the same.” Slip op. at 4. GEICO briefed eight counts. The court ruled on six.
The panel called it what it was:
We agree that the district court erred by not considering the amended complaint in deciding the motion to dismiss but conclude the error did not affect Villanueva’s substantial rights.
Slip op. at 6. Rule 61 tells courts they “must disregard any error or defect in the proceeding which does not affect the substantial rights of the parties.” Counts VII and VIII failed as a matter of law, so reading them would’ve changed nothing. Right on procedure, wrong on the law. In Minnesota that’s still a loss.
Villanueva had the tape, the numbers, a timely amendment, and a trial court that skipped two of his counts. None of it mattered, because he sued the other vehicle’s insurer under a statute the Legislature wrote for the Commerce Department. Before you sue an insurance company, figure out whose policy it is and which statute actually hands you a claim. A great tape can’t save the wrong statute.
Madgett Law, LLC handles Minnesota auto injury claims and first-party insurance disputes, including underpaid vehicle claims and the § 604.18 motion practice that comes with them. If an insurer has lowballed your total loss, send us a message.
Sources: Villanueva v. GEICO Casualty Co., No. A26-0557 (Minn. Ct. App. Oct. 12, 2026) (nonprecedential; Cochran, J., for a panel of Cochran, Worke, and Bond, JJ.; appeal from Hennepin County District Court File No. 27-CV-25-17498), slip opinion from the Minnesota State Law Library archive, at 1 (pro se appellant; affirmed), 2 (July 2025 collision; ACV $9,282.97; salvage $1,898.88; repair estimate $5,387.12; offer $7,384.09; “We use our numbers”; “I’m not worried about the second estimate”; “alignment issues”), 3 (rental and “storage fees would pile up”; suit twenty days after signing; counts I–V), 4 (count VI; amended complaint before GEICO responded adding counts VII and VIII; dismissal with prejudice; district court footnote; nn.1–2, GEICO’s motion addressed all eight counts), 6 (Rule 15.01; Sharkey; error not affecting substantial rights), 7 (count VIII; third-party claimant with no alleged contract), 8 (harmlessness under Rule 61; count III not challenged on appeal, n.4), 10 (§ 72B.092, subd. 1(7), “agreed to utilize”; no requirement to use a particular estimate in a total-loss decision), 11 (§ 72A.201, no private cause of action, citing Morris and Findling; § 325F.69 limited to the sale of merchandise). Morris v. American Family Mutual Insurance Co., 386 N.W.2d 233 (Minn. 1986), at 236 (“at best delphic”) and 238 (holding), Caselaw Access Project. Findling v. Group Health Plan, Inc., 998 N.W.2d 1 (Minn. 2023) (reporter cite and pin 13–14 as given in Villanueva at 11), No. A21-1518, slip opinion filed Dec. 6, 2023, Minnesota State Law Library archive, at 19 (Morris plaintiff alleged individual harm, not a widespread practice) and 21 (“Morris does not control the outcome of this case”). Sharkey v. City of Shoreview, 853 N.W.2d 832, 835 (Minn. Ct. App. 2014), as cited in Villanueva at 6. Minn. Stat. § 72A.201, subd. 1 (commissioner’s rules and administrative remedies; no general-business-practice showing; no individual violation actionable under § 8.31), subd. 6(1)(b)(iii) (deviating settlement must be documented, justified, and explained), subd. 9(1) (15 working days to respond to the commissioner), subd. 10 (no abrogation of policy provisions); Minn. Stat. § 72B.092, subd. 1(7); Minn. Stat. § 604.18, subd. 1(b) (definition of “insured”; third-party beneficiaries excluded), subd. 2(a) (two-part standard), subd. 3(a) (taxable-cost formula and $100,000 fee cap), subd. 4(a) (complaint must not seek recovery; motion to amend), subd. 4(c) (unavailable after arbitration or appraisal), subd. 4(d)(2) (Department of Commerce investigations inadmissible) — Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes. Minn. R. Civ. P. 15.01 (amendment once as a matter of course before a responsive pleading is served) and 61 (harmless error) — Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes, Court Rules.
This article is general legal information about Minnesota law, not legal advice, and reading it does not create an attorney–client relationship. It describes a decision in a case involving other parties; nothing here predicts how any court or insurer would handle any particular claim or set of facts. No outcome is promised or implied.